10 Galesburg Students Inducted Into Gale Scholars Class of 2021

  Aaron Frey
  Thursday, May 11, 2017 10:44 AM
  Campus News

Galesburg, IL

Ten Galesburg eighth-graders were inducted into the George Washington Gale Scholars Class of 2021 on Tuesday afternoon in Carl Sandburg College’s Crist Student Center, marking their initial step in a path toward a tuition-free education through Sandburg and Knox College.

Members of the Gale Scholars Class of 2021 are: Zander Carley, Alexa Custer, Diana Dawson, Armondo Jimenez, Benie Mbanani, Steven Mensah, Gabrielle Randol, Madeline Randol, Cole Sprinkle and Corissa Wright.

Named after the founder of Galesburg and Knox, the Gale Scholars program is a collaborative effort between Sandburg, Knox and District 205. Students who complete the program in high school receive tuition-waiver scholarships toward the completion of associate and bachelor's degree programs at Sandburg and Knox, respectively.

“You will be a different person when you cross the stage at Knox College. However, the road to Knox Commencement will not be an easy one,” Sandburg President Dr. Lori Sundberg said in addressing the inductees. “You’re going to have challenges and setbacks, and you’re going to want to quit sometime along the way. What I’m going to tell you is you must not quit. If you feel like it’s getting to be too much, think back to the way you feel today and the awesome opportunity you’ve been given and persevere.”

Students selected to the Gale Scholars program must have a financial need based upon federal guidelines, be a first-generation college student, demonstrate a commitment to school through a 90 percent attendance rate and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 2.5.

Participants must complete 20 hours of community service each year, be involved in at least two school activities per year, attend summer programs and workshops for academic and leadership enrichment and maintain at least a 2.5 GPA throughout their coursework.

The Gale Scholars program was established in 1996 to encourage and support higher education aspirations and success among academically promising, income-eligible students within District 205. It has been designated a “Best Practice” by the Illinois Board of Higher Education and the Illinois Association of School Boards.

Press Contact

Aaron Frey