Wallenfelsz Named Sandburg Adjunct Faculty of the Year

  Aaron Frey
  Friday, May 19, 2017 12:09 PM
  Campus News

Galesburg, IL

Kelly Wallenfelsz has been named the 2017 Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year after students and fellow faculty members nominated her for her outstanding work in the classroom. Wallenfelsz was introduced as the winner during the 49th annual Carl Sandburg College Commencement on Thursday night at Galesburg High School.

Wallenfelsz has been an instructor at Sandburg since 2009, teaching Interpersonal Communications and Introduction to Public Speaking courses. She has a Master of Arts in communication from Western Illinois University.

Wallenfelsz last year developed the blended version of Sandburg’s Introduction to Public Speaking course, and this year she developed and piloted the College’s first online section of the course. That addition helped the College offer the online Associate in Arts that will be available for the first time this fall.

“This instructor is amazing,” one student wrote in their nomination of Wallenfelsz. “She’s willing to go the extra mile for her students.” Others noted the genuine concern, understanding and fairness that Wallenfelsz provides to her students.

By being selected as Sandburg’s Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year, Wallenfelsz has been nominated for the Illinois Community College Trustees Association Outstanding Part-Time Faculty Award.

“I am honored to play a role in helping the students of Carl Sandburg College become better communicators,” Wallenfelsz said. “Nothing gives me a greater sense of satisfaction than watching a student go from a tongue-tied bundle of nerves on the first day of class to an accomplished and articulate speaker on the last.”


Kelly Wallenfelsz

Kelly Wallenfelsz


Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year Recipients

2017 — Kelly Wallenfelsz

2016 — Rex Beetner

2015 — Amanda Nichols

2014 — Paul Marasa

2013 — Sue Scott

2012 — Jena Linkin

2011 — Kim King

2010 — Candy Bryant

2009 — Sue Scott

2008 — Julie Van Fleet

2007 — Eric Alai

2006 — Kirk Watson

2005 — Jeff Gomer

2004 — Lisa Petentler

2003 — Kathleen Karns

2002 — Judy Boynton

2001 — Mona Tourlentes

2000 — Jerry Baker

1999 — Jon Larson

1998 — Marla Garrison

1997 — Marg Baldridge

Press Contact

Aaron Frey