4 Carl Sandburg Volleyball Players Earn All-Region IV Honors

  Aaron Frey
  Monday, November 6, 2017 3:59 PM

Galesburg, IL

In addition to winning the Region IV District B tournament Saturday, the Carl Sandburg College volleyball team placed four members on the all-tournament team, with three of them also earning All-Region IV honors for their play in the regular season.

Sophomores Emma Derry (Augusta, Ill./Southeastern) and Adre Vetter (Emden, Ill./Hartsburg-Emden) as well as freshmen Hannah Thompson (Blandinsville, Ill./West Prairie) and Josalyn Owens (Lincoln, Ill./Lincoln) earned All-Region IV District B tournament honors. Vetter, Thompson and Owens also were named to All-Region IV District A team.

Each member of the quartet has played in all 39 matches for the Chargers (25-14), who will play in the NJCAA Division II Volleyball Championship from Nov. 16-18 in Charleston, WVa. It’s the first trip to nationals in Sandburg volleyball history.

Vetter, a 5-foot-6 libero, has been one of the top defensive players in the country. In addition to leading Sandburg in digs (873) and digs per set (6.24), those totals rank fifth and 10th, respectively, among all Division II players. She has also served a team-leading 47 aces this season.

Owens, a 5-8 outside hitter, leads the Chargers in kills (398), kills per set (2.95) and total point (435.5). Her kill total ranks 30th nationally. Owens’ 28 kills in the Chargers’ three Region IV tournament matches tied Thompson for the team lead, and she had a Sandburg-best 11 kills in the championship match against No. 14 McHenry County.

Thompson, a 5-10 outside hitter, is second to Owens among Chargers in kills (350), kills per set (2.50) and total points (415.5). She also placed second among Sandburg players with 463 digs and fourth in aces with 39. Thompson had a team-high four aces in the Chargers’ victory over McHenry County in the title match.

A two-year starter, Derry, a 5-8 setter, leads the Chargers with 918 assists, which ranks 28th in the country, and assists per set (6.60). Her 41 aces are tied for second on the team, and she’s third among Chargers in digs with 347.

2017 Region IV Division II District B All-Tournament Team

Hannah Thompson (Carl Sandburg), Josalyn Owens (Carl Sandburg), Emma Derry (Carl Sandburg), Adre Vetter (Carl Sandburg), Katie Mahoney (McHenry County), Kyla Fitzsimmons (McHenry County), Courtney Johnson (Kankakee).

2017 All-Region IV Division II District A Volleyball Team

Bailey O’Brien (Sauk Valley), Sommer Rhea (Sauk Valley), Katie Mahoney (McHenry County), Payton Traff (McHenry County), Kayla Battle (Waubonsee), Kyla Fitzsimmons (McHenry County), Josalyn Owens (Carl Sandburg), Katie Stykel (Highland), Adre Vetter (Carl Sandburg), Hannah Peterson (Sauk Valley), Hannah Thompson (Carl Sandburg), Sidney Fedor (Waubonsee), Emma Lohr-Fandel (Illinois Valley), Natalie Jones (Waubonsee).


Follow Sandburg Athletics on Twitter

Like Sandburg Athletics on Facebook

Press Contact

Aaron Frey