Chargers Wynkoop, Stineman Named to All-Arrowhead Conference Softball Team

  Aaron Frey
  Tuesday, May 29, 2018 3:48 PM

Galesburg, IL

Carl Sandburg College softball freshmen Whitney Wynkoop (Fulton, Ill./Fulton) and Kylie Stineman (New Boston, Ill./Mercer County) have been voted to the All-Arrowhead Conference team for their play for the Chargers this spring.

Wynkoop, a first baseman who earned second-team All-Region IV honors earlier this month, had a .381 batting average for Sandburg in 63 at-bats over 18 conference games. She posted a .391 on-base percentage with 10 RBIs and 11 runs scored. Wynkoop was never caught while stealing a team-high eight bases against Arrowhead opponents. She hit safely in 14 of her 18 conference games, highlighted by a four-hit performance in a victory April 19 at Black Hawk in which she scored three times and drove in two.

Stineman led the Chargers’ pitching staff during the conference season in games (10), starts (nine), innings (61) and wins (five). She finished with a 5-4 record, 2.07 ERA and 1.25 WHIP while holding Arrowhead opponents to a .274 average. Stineman threw a four-hit shutout April 20 against Black Hawk in a game the Chargers won 8-0 in five innings.


Infielders: Taylor Workheiser (Black Hawk), Lauren Cramer (Highland), Whitney Wynkoop (Carl Sandburg), Mackenzie Smith (Sauk Valley), Kelsey Bollon (Highland).

Outfielders: Alexus Coleman (Black Hawk), Brenna McCann (Illinois Valley), Quincie Weber (Illinois Valley), Aubrey Ingram (Highland).

Catchers: Nadia Trujillo (Sauk Valley), Kylie Fransen (Highland).

Pitchers: Amber Lamb (Highland), Kylie Stineman (Carl Sandburg), Rachel Patting (Sauk Valley).

Designated Player: Abby Peterson (Highland).

MVP: Amber Lamb (Highland).

Coach of the Year: Charles Born (Highland). 

Follow Sandburg Athletics on Twitter

Like Sandburg Athletics on Facebook

Press Contact

Aaron Frey