Hutchings Named Carl Sandburg College Faculty Member of the Year

  Aaron Frey
  Thursday, May 17, 2018 8:19 PM
  Campus News

Galesburg, IL

James Hutchings has been named the 2018 Carl Sandburg College Faculty Member of the Year after students and fellow faculty members nominated Hutchings for his outstanding work in the classroom. Hutchings was introduced as the winner during the 50th annual Carl Sandburg College Commencement on Thursday night at Galesburg High School.

Hutchings, who serves as associate dean of humanities and fine arts, has been an instructor at Sandburg for nine years. Though this is the first time he’s been named Faculty Member of the Year, students have nominated him for the award eight times. By being selected as Sandburg’s Faculty Member of the Year, Hutchings also is a nominee for the Illinois Community College Trustees Association Outstanding Faculty Member Award.

Hutchings, also coordinator of the College’s study abroad program, credited three of his college professors with helping him become the teacher he is today.

“I learned communication, perseverance and patience, but most of all, I learned that I had an unlimited potential as a student, as a teacher, as a person,” Hutchings said. “Upon completion of my Master of Music degree, my only desire was to be that kind of professor for another generation of students.”

Hutchings was one of the first instructors at Sandburg to begin teaching in collaborative learning classrooms, which use a relaxed setting of living room furniture and café tables instead of the traditional desks and chairs and encourage discussion and interaction among students. He also is involved with the College’s honors program, and he has seen student participation in study abroad increase 400 percent since taking over that program.

Hutchings has served on the Instructional Technology, Curriculum and Student Services committees at Sandburg as well as having served as chair of the Faculty Council and as faculty representative to the College’s Board of Trustees. He also has been involved with the Illinois Consortium for International Studies and Programs and has been a presenter at Illinois Community College Faculty Association conferences. In 2017, Hutchings received the John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Award from the League for Innovation in the Community College. 

Carl Sandburg College Faculty Member of the Year Recipients

2018 — James Hutchings

2017 — Christina Stone

2016 — Kylie Price

2015 — Michael Crandell

2014 — Lara Roemer

2013 — Dia McKillip

2012 — Shanon Dickerson

2011 — David Kellogg

2010 — Vickie Culbertson

2009 — Lisa Walker

2008 — Dave Burns

2007 — Keith Williams

2006 — Linda Lee

2005 — Wendel Hunigan

2004 — James Craig Sanford

2003 — Carol Petersen

2002 — Larry Schroeder

2001 — Dave Wujek

2000 — Norm Burdick

1999 — Michael Crandell

1998 — Cathy White

1997 — Julie Gibb

1996 — Jack Daddona

1995 — Carlene Woodside

1994 — Marilou Schisler

1993 — Cynthia Thompson

1992 — Janet LaDage

1991 — Carol Eiten

1990 — Jim MacDonald

1989 — Jim Graham

1988 — Jim Graham

1987 — Judy Helm

1986 — Gen Yaw

1985 — Jim Graham

Press Contact

Aaron Frey