Jackson Named Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty of the Year

  Aaron Frey
  Thursday, May 17, 2018 8:17 PM
  Campus News

Galesburg, IL

Dr. Stephen Jackson has been named the 2018 Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year after students and fellow faculty members nominated him for his outstanding work in the classroom. Jackson was introduced as the winner during the 50th annual Carl Sandburg College Commencement on Thursday night at Galesburg High School.

Jackson has been a music instructor at Sandburg since 2009 while also teaching music and string bass at Monmouth College. He owns a master’s in musicology and a doctorate in jazz performance, both from the University of Illinois.

By being selected as Sandburg’s Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year, Jackson also is a nominee for the Illinois Community College Trustees Association Outstanding Part-Time Faculty Award.

In addition to teaching at Sandburg, directs the Lincoln College Jazz Ensemble, the string ensemble at Costa Catholic Academy and is music director at First Christian Church in Galesburg. He regularly performs as a jazz bassist throughout central Illinois and has been in the cello sections of the Civic Orchestra of Chicago and the Champaign-Urbana Symphony. Jackson also has performed with the Knox-Galesburg Symphony for many of the past 35 years.

“As a teacher of music classes, I aim to be sure students learn not just about the music we are studying but about the sociohistorical context of the music and who created or performed it,” Jackson said. “I do my best to remain as positive as possible in guiding each student, helping them in any way possible to reach their own achievement goals.” 

Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year Recipients

2018 — Dr. Stephen Jackson

2017 — Kelly Wallenfelsz

2016 — Rex Beetner

2015 — Amanda Nichols

2014 — Paul Marasa

2013 — Sue Scott

2012 — Jena Linkin

2011 — Kim King

2010 — Candy Bryant

2009 — Sue Scott

2008 — Julie Van Fleet

2007 — Eric Alai

2006 — Kirk Watson

2005 — Jeff Gomer

2004 — Lisa Petentler

2003 — Kathleen Karns

2002 — Judy Boynton

2001 — Mona Tourlentes

2000 — Jerry Baker

1999 — Jon Larson

1998 — Marla Garrison

1997 — Marg Baldridge

Press Contact

Aaron Frey