Bowman Named MVP as Chargers Put 4 on All-Arrowhead Team

  Aaron Frey
  Friday, November 9, 2018 11:37 AM

Galesburg, IL

Carl Sandburg College freshman volleyball player Peyton Bowman (Sciota, Ill./West Prairie) has added another individual honor to her name this year, highlighting four Chargers who were voted to the All-Arrowhead Conference team.

Bowman, already named Region IV District A Player of the Year this season, is the first Charger ever to earn the Arrowhead Conference Most Valuable Player award.

She was joined on the all-conference team by freshman setter Cora Vyhnanek (Colchester, Ill./West Prairie), sophomore outside hitter Hannah Thompson (Blandinsville, Ill./West Prairie) and sophomore outside hitter Josalyn Owens (Lincoln, Ill./Lincoln). For Thompson and Owens, it’s their second consecutive selection to the All-Arrowhead team.

Additionally, Sandburg coach Todd Winkler was named Arrowhead Conference Coach of the Year for the first time after leading the Chargers to an 8-0 league record and their first Arrowhead championship since 1990.

A 6-foot-3 middle hitter, Bowman has spent her freshman season as one of the most dominant offensive players in the country. In eight conference matches, Bowman totaled 79 kills (2.6 per set) and just 14 attack errors for a .455 hitting percentage. She had three Arrowhead matches with double-digit kills, including a season-best 18 in a win at Sauk Valley. Bowman also totaled a team-leading 18 blocks for the Chargers in conference play. Bowman’s .492 overall hitting percentage this season ranks second in all of NJCAA Division II.

Vyhnanek, a 5-9 freshman setter, was voted to the team despite missing two conference matches while sitting out for nearly a month because of surgery to remove her gall bladder. She racked up 247 assists (11.2 per set) in six Arrowhead matches, including 52 in the Chargers’ win at Sauk Valley. Vyhnanek also had three conference matches with 11 digs or more, led by a season-high 19 at Illinois Valley. Her 10.42 assists per set overall this season ranks eighth in the nation.

Thompson, a 5-10 outside hitter, earned All-Arrowhead accolades for a second straight year after lead the Chargers in kills (106) and kills per set (3.5) against league opponents. Thompson had at least nine kills in every Arrowhead match and reached double digits seven times. She also showed her versatility by recording double-digit digs in five matches and totaling 20 aces.

Owens, a 5-8 outside hitter, also was named all-conference for a second time after leading the Chargers with 257 attacks. She finished second on the team to Thompson in kills (93) and kills per set (3.1). Owens had six Arrowhead matches with at least 10 kills and served a career-best nine aces in the Chargers’ win Sept. 5 at Highland.

The Chargers (26-17) clinched their second straight Region IV District A tournament championship Sunday and will continue the most successful season in program history when they play in the NJCAA Division II Volleyball Championship next week in Charleston, W.Va. Sandburg is the 12th seed in the 16-team, double-elimination tournament and will face No. 5 Kirkwood (Iowa) at 2 p.m. Thursday.

2018 All-Arrowhead Conference Volleyball Team
Peyton Bowman (Fr., Sandburg, Most Valuable Player), Macie Good (Fr., Sauk Valley), Cora Vyhnanek (Fr., Sandburg), Hannah Thompson (So., Sandburg), Baylee Tillman (So., Sauk Valley), Hannah Terrill (So., Black Hawk), Jenna Lusietto (So., Illinois Valley), Josalyn Owens (So., Sandburg), Maria Solomon (Fr., Black Hawk), Olivia Pilgrim (So., Sauk Valley), Kassidy Church (So., Sauk Valley), Jessica Garber (So., Illinois Valley), Makenzie Robieson (So., Highland).
Coach of the Year: Todd Winkler (Sandburg)

2018 Arrowhead Conference standings
Sandburg 8-0
Sauk Valley 5-3
Illinois Valley 4-4
Black Hawk 3-5
Highland 0-8 

Like Carl Sandburg College Athletics on Facebook

Follow @SandburgNJCAA on Twitter

Press Contact

Aaron Frey