Knox Named Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year

  Aaron Frey
  Friday, May 17, 2019 10:30 AM
  Campus News

Galesburg, IL

Ginny Knox has been named the 2019 Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year after students and fellow faculty members nominated her for her outstanding work in the classroom. Knox was introduced as the winner during the 51st Carl Sandburg College Commencement on Thursday night at Galesburg High School.

This marked the first year as an instructor at Sandburg for Knox, who teaches dual enrollment courses in the southern portion of the College’s district.

During the fall, Knox taught public speaking for Illini West High School students at the Branch Campus in Carthage as well as an interpersonal communication class at Warsaw High School. She taught public speaking at Hamilton High School during the spring semester.

Knox began her higher education path at Illinois Central College in 1982 and earned a master’s in communication from Western Illinois University in 2011. She has also taught at Spoon River College, Monmouth College, John Wood Community College and WIU in addition to working as a substitute teacher in the Macomb School District.

“I believe I am able to help students overcome their fear of being vulnerable, but in particular their fear of public speaking,” Knox said. “I have done this by showing them that they have the ability within themselves to study, practice and learn. It is because I have had successes time and again with students that I continue to be inspired to teach.” 


Carl Sandburg College Faculty Member of the Year Recipients

2019 — Ginny Knox

2018 — Dr. Stephen Jackson

2017 — Kelly Wallenfelsz

2016 — Rex Beetner

2015 — Amanda Nichols

2014 — Paul Marasa

2013 — Sue Scott

2012 — Jena Linkin

2011 — Kim King

2010 — Candy Bryant

2009 — Sue Scott

2008 — Julie Van Fleet

2007 — Eric Alai

2006 — Kirk Watson

2005 — Jeff Gomer

2004 — Lisa Petentler

2003 — Kathleen Karns

2002 — Judy Boynton

2001 — Mona Tourlentes

2000 — Jerry Baker

1999 — Jon Larson

1998 — Marla Garrison

1997 — Marg Baldridge

Press Contact

Aaron Frey