Smolensky Named Carl Sandburg College Faculty Member of the Year

  Aaron Frey
  Friday, May 17, 2019 10:16 AM
  Campus News

Galesburg, IL

Marjorie Smolensky has been named the 2019 Carl Sandburg College Faculty Member of the Year after students and fellow faculty members nominated her for her outstanding work in the classroom. Smolensky was introduced as the winner during the 51st Carl Sandburg College Commencement on Thursday night at Galesburg High School.

Smolensky has been as associate professor of biology at Sandburg for more than 15 years, teaching courses such as biochemistry, cell biology, anatomy & physiology, microbiology and vertebrate zoology.

Smolensky was an adjunct instructor at Sandburg for several years before becoming a full-time faculty member in 2002. Prior to that, she taught at Kean College, Augustana College, Monmouth College and Knox College. Smolensky earned her Bachelor of Science from Kean and a Master of Science from Rutgers University. Her first job out of graduate school was doing research as an electron microscopist at the College of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey.

While at Sandburg, Smolensky has chaired the Faculty Council and served on the Tenure Committee and Technology Committee. She currently serves on the Outcomes and Assessment Committee.

Smolensky won a 2015 Innovation of the Year award from the League for Innovation in the Community College for her use of apps and smartboards to display 3D and 4D animations of the human anatomy for instruction. She also was named a 2019 winner of the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) Excellence Award, but Smolensky considers her greatest achievement the successes of those she has taught.

“She is always there for her students,” one nomination for Smolensky read, “even if they’re no longer her students.” 

Marge Smolensky

Carl Sandburg College Faculty Member of the Year Recipients
2019 — Marjorie Smolensky

2018 — James Hutchings

2017 — Christina Stone

2016 — Kylie Price

2015 — Michael Crandell

2014 — Lara Roemer

2013 — Dia McKillip

2012 — Shanon Dickerson

2011 — David Kellogg

2010 — Vickie Culbertson

2009 — Lisa Walker

2008 — Dave Burns

2007 — Keith Williams

2006 — Linda Lee

2005 — Wendel Hunigan

2004 — James Craig Sanford

2003 — Carol Petersen

2002 — Larry Schroeder

2001 — Dave Wujek

2000 — Norm Burdick

1999 — Michael Crandell

1998 — Cathy White

1997 — Julie Gibb

1996 — Jack Daddona

1995 — Carlene Woodside

1994 — Marilou Schisler

1993 — Cynthia Thompson

1992 — Janet LaDage

1991 — Carol Eiten

1990 — Jim MacDonald

1989 — Jim Graham

1988 — Jim Graham

1987 — Judy Helm

1986 — Gen Yaw

1985 — Jim Graham

Press Contact

Aaron Frey