> Carl Sandburg College Board of Trustees Seats 2 New Members

Carl Sandburg College Board of Trustees Seats 2 New Members

GALESBURG — The Carl Sandburg College Board of Trustees welcomed two new members and elected new officers at its regular monthly meeting May 2 on the Main Campus in Galesburg.

Joshua Gibb of Wataga and Gayle Keiser of Galesburg took their oath of office after winning seats in the April consolidated election. Gayla Pacheco, who has served on the Board since 2009, also was sworn in after being re-elected. Gibb, Keiser and Pacheco were voted to six-year terms.

Resolutions were read commending outgoing trustees Sandra Wood and Bill Robinson for their years of service to the college. Wood had been on the Board since 2011, and Robinson had served since being elected in 2005.

The Board also elected officers for 2023-24. Tom Colclasure was elected chair, DeVone Eurales was re-elected as vice chair and Pacheco was elected to serve as secretary.

Trustees accepted a grant worth $46,728 from the Tracy Family Foundation to support the expansion of Sandburg’s practical nursing program at the Branch Campus in Carthage. Funds will be used to purchase updated training equipment and facilitate the accreditation process for the LPN program at that location. The college previously received $10,000 from the Tracy Family Foundation in 2020 to support student technology needs.

The board awarded contracts totaling $630,200 toward construction of the new Science and Technology Center. Contracts were awarded to CCI Flooring for floor coating and River City Construction for landscaping.

Trustees accepted bids totaling $187,963 from River City Construction and Dowers Roofing for repairs to the college’s Fitness Center. Work will include interior thermal improvements, exterior flashing repairs and a membrane roofing.

Program coordinators for the 2023-24 academic year were approved by the board. They are:
• Art — Lisa Walker
• Associate degree nursing — Christina Stone
• Criminal justice — Dr. Christopher Barber
• Dental hygiene clinic — Amanda Nichols
• Dental hygiene — Stacy Kosier
• Diagnostic imaging — Laura Rider
• English/honors — Jennifer Wright
• Nursing lab and simulation — Tammi Lewis
• Math/developmental math — Tony Paris
• Medical assistant — Cathy Gebru
• Mortuary science — Tim Krause
• Practical nursing/nursing assistant — Stacy Bainter 

In other business, the Board approved the following:
• Summer business hours of 7:30 a.m.-4 p.m. weekdays from May 22-Aug. 4
• Reimbursement of $442.02 to Lee Johnson for travel expenditures for Illinois Community College Trustees Association and West Central Regional meetings
• Employment of Meagan Nunez as assistant controller, effective May 3.
• Employment of Andrew Ray as custodian, effective May 3.
• Employment of Zachary Shepler as custodian, effective May 16.
• Employment of Delaney Henry as student services support specialist, effective May 16.
Resignation of Cory Gall as vice president of administrative services, effective April 30
• Resignation/retirement of Julie Van Fleet as administrative assistant to the associate vice president of academic and student planning, effective April 30.
• Resignation/retirement of 11 employees as part of the college’s voluntary supplemental retirement plan, effective June 30:

• Michael Bailey, academic advisor
• Patty Bailey, financial aid assistant
• Kathy Derry, custodian
• Carla Eagan, full-time dental hygiene faculty
• Ellen Henderson-Gasser, Branch Campus director
• Jennifer Holmes, academic advisor
• Gina Krupps, human resources special projects
• Craig McCants, assistant coordinator of maintenance services
• Victoria McMullin, counselor
• Steven Norton, senior vice president of student services
• Dyson Shannon, public safety officer

The Board’s next scheduled meeting is 7 p.m. May 25 on the Main Campus in Galesburg.