> Carl Sandburg College Trustees Adopt Budget for FY2024

Carl Sandburg College Trustees Adopt Budget for FY2024

GALESBURG — The Carl Sandburg College Board of Trustees adopted the budget for fiscal year 2024 during its regular monthly meeting June 29 on the Main Campus in Galesburg.

The budget includes revenues and transfers of $33.7 million — up from $30.5 million for FY23 — and expenditures of $33 million net of building construction costs. That figure is up from $29.5 million for FY23. The budget includes $22.9 million in the college’s Building Bonds Fund toward the construction of the new Science & Technology Center and other campus construction projects. The college’s 2024 fiscal year began July 1.

The Board accepted two grants from the Illinois Community College Board worth more than $480,000. A Trade School Grant worth $285,910 will be used to launch the Providing Industrial Professions Experience, or PIPEline, program. The pilot program will debut in 2024 and offer career exploration, dual credit courses, apprenticeships and retention support for high school seniors interested in pursuing careers in manufacturing trades.

Sandburg also received a Pipeline for the Advancement of the Healthcare Workforce (PATH) grant worth $195,350. PATH allocations are used to support recruitment, retention and student support efforts for health care programs, including nursing, radiologic technology, MRI, CT, medical office professional and phlebotomy. Sandburg will use the grant to offset student costs, fund test-prep courses and provide stipends to decrease barriers to student completion.

President Dr. Seamus Reilly was appointed as the college’s treasurer following the April departure of Cory Gall as vice president of administrative services and CFO. The Board also approved an agreement with Clifton Larson Allen to provide accounting services not to exceed $40,000.

Trustees approved a list of surplus items to be put up for auction by Kyle Kelso Auctioneer. The items were deemed no longer needed, no longer meeting technological needs or were in aging condition during preparation for the construction of the Science & Technology Center.

The Board accepted a bid of $29,472 from Supertech to purchase a Phantom for training in the radiologic technology program. A Phantom is a simulated body that can be scanned, contains full skeleton and abdominal organ replicas and moves all major joints like human patients.

In other business, the Board approved the following:
• Reimbursement of $140.34 to Lee Johnson, $304.77 to Gayle Keiser, $117.25 to Gayla Pacheco and $117.25 to Joshua Gibb for travel expenditures for Illinois Community College Trustees Association annual conference in Bloomington.
• Funds not to exceed $124,550 to complete HVAC updates to Building G.
• A renewed three-year contract for Vice President of Academic Services Carrie Hawkinson through June 2026.
• Employment of Brielle Hill-Johnson as English instructor at the Branch Campus, effective July 1.
• Employment of Ashley Reaves as dental hygiene instructor, effective July 1.
• Employment of Jodi Pospeschil as director of the Branch Campus, effective July 1.
• Employment of Dustin Zimmerman as associate director of financial aid, effective July 1.
• Employment of Jason Brown as building maintenance staff, effective July 1.
• Employment of Victor Gray as coordinator of maintenance services, effective July 16.
• Employment of Delaney Henry as admissions and records support specialist, effective July 1.
• Employment of Ashley Lee as Upward Bound project advisor, effective July 1.
• Employment of Emily Collins as recruitment coordinator for career, technical and health professions, effective July 1.
• Appointment of Douglas Ferguson as executive director of information services, effective July 1.
• Appointment of Michelle Johnson as associate vice president of institutional resources, effective July 1.
• Appointment of Taylor Finch-McVay as director of accreditation, effective July 1.
• Resignation of Amy Burford as director of TRIO Student Support Services program and Gale Scholars advisor, effective July 31.
• Resignation of Nicholas Mackey as grounds assistant, effective June 21.
• Resignation of Seth McLaren as public safety officer, effective June 12.
• Resignation of Gabriel Trulson as chief safety officer, effective June 30.
• Denial of request for extension of unpaid leave of absence with non-accrual of benefits for Dean Blust.

The Board’s next scheduled meeting is 7 p.m. July 27 on the Main Campus in Galesburg.