Sandburg’s Gowan, Fayhee Voted to All-Arrowhead Conference Team for 2nd Straight Year

  Aaron Frey
  Friday, March 13, 2020 11:46 AM

Galesburg, IL

A pair of Carl Sandburg College men’s basketball sophomores were voted by league coaches to the All-Arrowhead Conference Team for the second straight season.

Scott Gowan (Rockford, Ill./Rockford East) was a first-team selection, while Carter Fayhee (Macomb, Ill./Macomb) was a second-team pick. Both Chargers were second-team all-conference honorees as freshmen.

Gowan, a 6-foot-3 guard, finished third in scoring in the conference, averaging 16.6 points against Arrowhead opponents. One of the top shooters in the nation, Gowan tied for the conference lead in both 3-point shooting (46 percent) and free-throw shooting (89 percent). His 53 percent overall mark from the field was good for third in the conference. Gowan, who also earned second-team All-Region IV honors this season, averaged 3.1 rebounds and 2.6 assists in Arrowhead games.

Overall this season, Gowan finished fourth in NJCAA Division II in 3-point shooting at 49.7 percent (80 for 161), and his 85.4 percent (82 of 96) mark at the free-throw line was eighth nationally.

A versatile 6-foot-5 guard, Fayhee averaged 11.5 points, 3.2 assists, 1.4 steals and a team-high 6.2 rebounds in 10 conference matchups. Fayhee shot 43 percent overall, 40 percent from 3-point range and 69 percent from the line. He scored in double figures in seven Arrowhead games and had a double-double with 11 points and 10 rebounds in Sandburg’s Jan. 16 win at Kishwaukee.

Gowan and Fayhee helped the Chargers to a 23-10 overall record — Sandburg’s third consecutive 20-win season — and a runner-up finish in the Region IV Division II District 4 tournament.

First Team — Andrew Morrissey (MVP, Sauk Valley), Scott Gowan (Sandburg), Vic Nwagbaroacha (Highland), Tyler Rodgers (Illinois Valley), Cam Burrell (Highland).
Second Team — Terry Ford (Black Hawk), Delaney Little (Black Hawk), Markel Hudson (Sauk Valley), Nick Fleming (Highland), Carter Fayhee (Sandburg).
Coach of the Year — Chad Boudreau (Highland)

2020 Arrowhead Conference Men’s Basketball Standings
Highland          10-0
Sauk Valley      6-4
Sandburg         5-5
Illinois valley   5-5
Black Hawk      4-6
Kishwaukee     0-10

Get text/email notifications of Sandburg Athletics results

Follow Sandburg Athletics on Twitter

Like Sandburg Athletics on Facebook

Press Contact

Aaron Frey