Carl Sandburg College to Receive More Than $1.1 Million Through CARES Act

  Aaron Frey
  Wednesday, April 29, 2020 3:58 PM
  Campus News

Galesburg, IL

Carl Sandburg College will receive more than $1.1 million from the federal government through the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act to support the College and its students affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, President Dr. Seamus Reilly told the Sandburg Board of Trustees during its meeting Thursday evening.

Sandburg was allocated $1,175,052 from the CARES Act, and at least 50 percent of that amount must be used to provide students with emergency financial aid. The College is finalizing how much will be awarded to each student who was enrolled as of March 23 and when those funds will be distributed. 

The remaining portion of emergency financial aid CARES Act funds will be distributed as crisis grants from the Carl Sandburg College Foundation. Students must apply at in order to be eligible for crisis grants. Additionally, Director of Advancement Emily Webel announced during Thursday’s meeting that the Foundation received a $5,000 supplemental gift from the Galesburg Community Foundation’s rapid response fund, also to be used toward crisis grants for Sandburg students.

Sandburg students will see no change in tuition rate for the 2020-21 academic year. The Board approved a flat tuition rate that matches the current cost of $170 per credit hour for in-district students, $255 per credit hour for students outside the district and $284 per credit hour for those out of state.

“It's important to realize that we've tried to make the least impact on the tuition side to protect our students,” Reilly said. “We can't do this, of course, forever, but right now we think we're pretty secure in doing this, despite the COVID virus.”

The Board also authorized the adoption of the tentative budget for fiscal year 2021 and approved a revision to the FY2021 budget development calendar in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic to allow for as much data as available to go into the new budget. Final approval of the budget is now scheduled to be voted on at the Board’s June 25 meeting, rather than the May 28 meeting.

New Board officers were elected for 2020-21. Bill Robinson was elected to serve as chairperson. Sandra Wood was elected as vice chairperson, and Lee Johnson was elected as secretary.

In other business, the Board approved the following:

  • Summer business hours of 7:30 p.m.-4 p.m. weekdays from May 18-Aug. 7.
  • Resignation/retirement of Michael Neill as full-time mathematics/developmental mathematics faculty, effective June 30.
  • A resolution recognizing Olivia Bishop for her service as student trustee for the 2019-20 academic year.
  • A total bid of $47,291 from Sutton County Carpets for registrar flooring replacement.
  • Appointment of program coordinators for the 2020-21 academic year. They are:
    • First-year associate degree nursing — Christina Stone
    • Second-year associate degree nursing — Jan Lundeen
    • Art — Lisa Walker
    • Criminal justice — Chris Barber
    • Dental hygiene clinic — Lori Carlson
    • Dental hygiene program — Stacy Kosier
    • Diagnostic imaging — Jackie Whipple
    • EMS program — Will Anderson
    • English/honors — Jennifer Wright
    • Lab & simulation — Tammi Lewis
    • Math/developmental math — Tony Paris
    • Mortuary science — Tim Krause
    • Practical nursing/nursing assistant — Stacy Bainter

The Board’s next scheduled meeting is 7 p.m. May 28. Due to the coronavirus, a location has yet to be announced.

Press Contact

Aaron Frey