Florio Named Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year

  Aaron Frey
  Tuesday, June 30, 2020 10:05 AM
  Campus News

Galesburg, IL

Debra Florio has been named the 2020 Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year after students and fellow faculty members nominated her for her outstanding work in the classroom.

Florio was recognized as the winner Tuesday during Sandburg’s virtual celebration for its 2019-20 graduates. A health professional for nearly 30 years, Florio joined Sandburg in 2019 for her second stint as an adjunct instructor, teaching nursing.

Florio graduated from Sandburg’s associate degree nursing program in 1992, earned a bachelor’s from Western Illinois University in 1999 and also has her orthopedic nurse certification.

Florio started her career as a staff nurse at Galesburg Cottage Hospital from 1992-95, and she was an adjunct instructor for Sandburg’s certified nursing assistant program from 1994-95. Florio later worked as a home health nurse for Community Hospice (1995-2001), an office nurse for Cottage Home Options (2001-02), an office nurse for Galesburg Orthopedics (2002-13) and the clinic coordinator for Cottage Hospital (2013-18).

“I felt humbled, surprised and honored,” Florio said of learning she had won the award. “It was also a great boost to my confidence, having only recently started teaching. The most rewarding part of teaching is creating an environment which not only includes learning the material but having fun with it, being able to laugh at our mistakes and demonstrating techniques without fear of ridicule. Also, helping students develop a sense of pride when they accomplish a difficult task.”

Debra Florio

Debra Florio

Carl Sandburg College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year Recipients
2020 — Debra Florio

2019 — Ginny Knox

2018 — Stephen Jackson

2017 — Kelly Wallenfelsz

2016 — Rex Beetner

2015 — Amanda Nichols

2014 — Paul Marasa

2013 — Sue Scott

2012 — Jena Linkin

2011 — Kim King

2010 — Candy Bryant

2009 — Sue Scott

2008 — Julie Van Fleet

2007 — Eric Alai

2006 — Kirk Watson

2005 — Jeff Gomer

2004 — Lisa Petentler

2003 — Kathleen Karns

2002 — Judy Boynton

2001 — Marla Tourlentes

2000 — Jerry Baker

1999 — Jon Larson

1998 — Marla Garrison

1997 — Marg Baldridge

Press Contact

Aaron Frey