Quinn, Schwieter Receive Carl Sandburg College Alumni Awards

  Aaron Frey
  Tuesday, June 30, 2020 9:57 AM
  Campus News

Galesburg, IL

Carl Sandburg College recognized the 2020 recipients of its Distinguished Alumnus Award and Outstanding Young Alumnus Award on Tuesday during the College’s virtual ceremony for its 2019-20 graduates.

Kiley Thomas Quinn ’99 received the Distinguished Alumnus Award, and Becca Schwieter ’14 received the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award.

Quinn graduated from Sandburg in 1999 with an Associate in Applied Science. Although her plans included finishing her bachelor’s degree at Western Illinois University, she was recruited out of her program of study to work in the newspaper industry just months into her coursework.

At the age of 19, Quinn began her career at the Peoria Journal Star in sales. Within three years, she was promoted to manager and then again to higher management positions within the industry just a few years later. While Quinn loved the work she was doing, she sensed the shift in print media and moved her career back to the Galesburg area. Since 2011, she has led the marketing department for Cottage Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine, dedicating her career to promoting health and wellness.

Quinn’s leadership doesn’t stop with her career. A member of PEO Chapter BB in Abingdon, Quinn works to celebrate the advancement of women through the power of education. As a current board member of the Galesburg Noon Rotary, her service as the youth service director and in other capacities across the years embodies the main tenet of Rotary: “service above self.” Because of this dedication to the community, Quinn was honored by Rotary International as a Paul Harris Fellow. Quinn also belongs to the women’s leadership group WIN (Women’s Issues Network) in Galesburg, was a key stakeholder in the We Fit Together healthy community organization and served on the Hedding Grade School PTO in her hometown of Abingdon.

Balancing the challenges of raising a family and working full-time has never been easy, but Quinn and her husband, Jared, have two children, Kennedy (11) and Graham (6) in Abingdon.

“I support education by showing up. Showing up every day for my family, for my faith, for my job and co-workers,” Quinn said. “I support education by teaching my children that education is a vital part of their lives, that positive thinking, being kind by helping others and having a great moral compass will shape them to be productive citizens and only strengthen our society.”

For Schwieter, although her hometown of Gilson is small, her dreams have always been big. Her goal to become a veterinarian was realized this spring when she graduated from Midwestern University College of Veterinary Medicine in Glendale, Ariz.

After graduating with highest honors and an AAS from Sandburg in 2014, Schwietertransferred to Knox College, where she received a bachelor’s degree in biology with a minor in Spanish. She finished her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program with a 3.472 GPA and plans on coming back to the Knox County area to begin her career.

During her time at Sandburg, Schwieter was highly involved in the TRIO Student Support Services program, consistently mentoring other students when they were struggling, especially in math and science classes. She continued this collaboration with her fellow students in veterinary school, holding leadership positions and working alongside her peers to organize events through her veterinary fraternity, Omega Tau Sigma.

Autumn Scott, director of TRIO SSS at Sandburg and Schwieter’s nominator, described her as an “optimist who sticks to her values, even when the odds are against her. She always does the right thing — even when it is the hard thing.”

Schwieter’s love of animals translates into the volunteer work she does through the Illinois Horse Fair Queen Pageant, Omega Tau Sigma, work at Midwestern University’s mobile clinic and as a heart rate monitor during the Land of the Sun Endurance Ride. When she is not riding her horse, Sugar, Schwieter loves photography.

Kiley Thomas Quinn     Becca Schwieter

Kiley Thomas Quinn           Becca Schwieter

Carl Sandburg College Distinguished Alumnus Award Recipients
2020 — Kiley Thomas Quinn

2019 — Darci Heap

2018 — Craig Willis

2017 — Dr. Karmen Hopkins

2016 — Robert Mason

2015 — Dr. Judy Glaser

2014 — Judge Thomas Keith

2013 — Jim Purlee

2012 — Susan Swartwout

2011 — Cynthia Kitchen

2010 — Cynthia Kiffer

2009 — Joshua Gibb

2008 — Brenda Stewart Clevidence

2007 — Bonni Smith-Skripps

2006 — Sandra Gavin

2005 — Tara Miller

2004 — Dave Burns

2003 — Dr. Lori Sundberg

2002 — Christine Baumgardner

2001 — Lannie Cation

2000 — Sharon Graham

1999 — Linda Foster

1998 — Victor Miller

1997 — Betty Thal

1996 — Rose Stockman

1995 — Larry Schwartz

1994 — Daniel Baker

1993 — Ann Murdock

1992 — Jan Lundeen

1991 — No recipient

1990 — Louis Gamage & Mary Louderman

1989 — Janice Champion

1988 — Donna Medina

1987 — Gerald Strom Jr.

1986 — John Delawder III

1985 — Russell Orwig

1984 — Daniel Bailey

1983 — Jerry Latherow

1982 — F. Dale Cozad

1981 — Maren Kay Carlson

1980 — Daniel Baker

1979 — William Campbell

Carl Sandburg College Outstanding Young Alumnus Award Recipients
2020 — Becca Schwieter

2019 — Kassie Karssen-Schoon

2018 — Krista Winters

2017 — Matthew Wolford

2016 — Elvith Santoyo-McNaught

2015 — Travis Nesby

2014 — Trevor Davies

2013 — Naomi Wai

2012 — Ashley Swick

Press Contact

Aaron Frey