1982 Volleyball Team

82 team photo


Front Row (L to R): Lanyta Steward, Lori Derham, Teresa Powell, Debbie Rose, Debbie McKinnon & Jackie Williams.
Second Row (L to R): Barb Neff, Kim Gottman, Lyndale Pickrell, Isabel Baca, Laurie Whitford & Terri Neil.


Arrowhead Conference Champions
Sectional Tournament Champions


All-Conference Team: Laurie Whitford, Lanyta Steward, Terri Neil & Teresa Powell
Head Coach: Mary (Campagna) Robson



The 1982 Sandburg Volleyball Team is the first volleyball team in the school´s history to win the Arrowhead Conference Championship and were one win away from a spot in the state volleyball championship tournament. Fatigue may have played a part in Sandburg´s defeat in the regional tournament. "We lost our momentum due to a lack of concentration," Sandburg head volleyball coach Mary (Campagna) Robson said at the time. It was Robson´s first year as the head volleyball coach at Sandburg. Prior to coaching at Sandburg, she coached the volleyball teams at Lombard Middle School (Galesburg, Ill.) and at Galesburg High School.